How To
Now Reading
How to Delete Your Gmail Personal Data

How to Delete Your Gmail Personal Data

Gmail is Google’s free Email service that brings Google’s search functionalities to your email. Offered with a generous free online storage of 15GB, it allows one to store and archive all your messages. With a simplistic interface, Google enables users to find their emails in the search box according to the context without any problem. The robust IMAP and POP enables one to receive emails through any email program on any device.

Gmail offers great features and protects against spam in an efficient way that many competitors have tried to imitate. Surprisingly, clearing your history won’t prevent Google from keeping a record of all your search activity. There has been a lot of debate about Google and other companies storing user data and selling it to third parties at a profit. Google keeps a lot of your data but fortunately, we have some control over that. What gets stored in the “My Activity” section of your Google account can be deleted if you wish to.

Right from Facebook, YouTube, Equifax, Panera, and many others, it seems like there are security breaches every other week. Now, this has got people worried as they realise their personal information is not as secure as they thought. Users are now alert of risking exposure by taking measures such as limiting their online presence to protect themselves and their information.

Gmail Personal Data

There are three ways that users can follow to delete their Google search history, Google browsing history, and delete their activity with the aim of protecting their privacy. Google assured its users that if they want to delete their data, Google will have to follow suit. 

One way to gain control of your personal information and avoid being exploited is to cut down on how advertisers and computer companies track and make use of the data they collect from you.

Deleting the Google web-browser history and Google search is one way to do this. Even if you’re using the “Incognito Tab”, you’re still not being completely anonymous. If you don’t prefer using Google, there’s DuckDuckGo, which is essentially a search engine that respects users’ privacy.

“It feels like the standard of trust online has really gone down, and we are trying to set a new standard of trust online,” DuckDuckGo’s CEO and founder, Gabriel Weinberg, said. “Our mission is to make getting privacy as easy as closing the blinds.”

There has been an uproar for more transparency online by new companies. Many people want to delete their internet history so as to protect their privacy. Unfortunately, deleting the web-browser history doesn’t really eliminate all the information Google has on you. You have to delete some data separately such as your maps activity if you have “location history” turned on.

Gmail Personal Data From Web Browser

gmail personal data

Even after deleting all or some of the activity, you still haven’t escaped Google’s grasp. Google still has your records regarding how you used its web browser prior to the deleted data. If you search for something, Google’s algorithm will remember that you had searched for something at a particular time and date. However, according to the company’s website, it will not be that you specifically searched for.

Unlike other search engine tech companies, Google promises to actually delete that data on your account after prompting to deleting it. Other than using DuckDuckGo, an easy thing to do is ensuring your online activity is not tracked as you move ahead by adjusting your Google settings by choosing “Stop Saving Activity”.

How to Turn Off Your Activity

  1. On your computer, head over to Activity controls.
  2. Turn off the activity you never wanted to save.
  3. For confirmation, press “Pause”.

Before you do it, remember that if you delete the history, all your saved passwords will be deleted as well. Therefore, you’ll have to log manually back in again on any site you had saved passwords.

How to Delete Gmail Personal Data

In the main section of “My Activity” on your Google account, you can view and delete Android usage data, Voice and Audio data, Google Assistant data (searches, smart home control, etc.), search data and ads.

To delete them, simply click the three dots on the right of each entry and then click delete. To delete a variety of customized data, for instance, activity data or type, head on to:

  1. My Activity section of your Google account.
  2. Click the three dots on the upper right side of your screen.
  3. Then “delete activity by”.
  4. Click “Today” to open a drop-down.
  5. Select “All time” to delete your activity since the beginning.
  6. Click “Delete” to simply delete all your activity today. Optionally, you can choose a date range by deleting data based on keyword, Google product, or the type of activity.
  7. Click “Delete” in the pop-up.

How to Turn Off Your Google Activity Tracking

If you don’t wish to delete all your stored Google activity data but you want to pause tracking, you can:

  1. Go to “My Activity” section of your Google account
  2. Click the three vertical lines representing the menu button on the upper left of your browser window. 
  3. Then Activity controls.
  4. Click “Switch Next” to each service that you’d like to disable tracking.