How To
Now Reading
It’s Not a Bad Idea to Share Your Location with Trusted Contacts

It’s Not a Bad Idea to Share Your Location with Trusted Contacts

For safety purposes, it’s always advisable to share your location with a few trusted friends to ensure someone can locate you in case of an emergency.

In the technological world we live in today, it’s daunting how much our phones and online services know so much about us. As a personal security measure, phone tracking can seem to intrude one’s privacy. However, if you think about it, it isn’t all that bad.

With the right app and settings, knowing your exact location could give your loved one peace of mind and could also ease the doubt of emergency personnel on locating you.

If you get lost, fall unconscious or go missing, how your friends and family will find you is something to think about. The great thing is that Google has made it easy for trustworthy contacts to see your location. Whether you use an Android or iPhone device, you can easily share your location consistently or temporarily.

Sharing Your Real-time Location with Others on Your Android Device

Using a Google Account;

  • If you haven’t already, add your Gmail address to your Google Contacts.
  • On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app and sign in.
  • Tap the “Account Circle”, then “Location sharing”, and then “Add people.”
  • Choose how long you want to share your location.
  • Tap Select People – If you’re asked about your contacts, give Google Maps access.
  • Choose who you want to share with.
  • Tap Share.

If you don’t have a Google Account;

  • On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app and sign in.
  • Tap the Account Circle > Location Sharing > Add People.
  • Tap More (three vertical dotted lines) > Copy to clipboard. Everyone with this link can see your location for as long as you choose, up to 3 days (72 hours).

Share Using another App

  • If you are using third-party apps or through messaging apps. Tap More > select an app.

Stop Sharing

  • Open Google Maps
  • Tap the Account Circle, then Location Sharing
  • Next to the person you want to stop sharing, tap remove (the X icon).

Share Your ETA

After starting your journey on foot, by car or bicycle, one can share their destination, estimated arrival time, and exactly where they are on the route.

  • Open Google Maps
  • Set your driving destination
  • After you begin navigating, tap “More”, then “Share Trip Progress”.
  • Choose the person you want
  • Tap Share
  • Location Sharing will automatically stop when you reach your destination or stop the navigation. To stop sharing before arrival, tap More > Stop Sharing.

Sharing Public Transit Info

  • Open Google Maps on your Android device
  • Choose the public transit route you’re taking
  • After commencing the navigation, tap “Share Trip”
  • Select the person you share with
  • Tap “Share”.

Your location will stop being shared once you reach your destination.

See Where Someone Is

Ask for Someone’s Location;

  • If you’ve shared your location with someone, or they have shared with you in the past, you can ask to see where they are using Maps.
  • On the device, open Google Maps
  • Tap Account Circle > Location Sharing
  • Select the contact that has shared with you before
  • Tap Request > Request.

The contact you requested will see your email address and notification after you ask for their location. When they see it, they have the option to:

  • Look at your profile and verify who you are
  • Share their location with you
  • Ignore the request
  • Block you and you won’t be able to ask for their location again.

See Someone’s Location

When someone shares their location with you, you can see them on the map.

  • Open Google Maps
  • Tap Account Circle > Location sharing
  • Choose someone. To see an updated location, tap on their icon, then “More”, then “Refresh”

Hide Someone’s Location

If you no longer want to see someone who has shared their real-time location with you on Google Maps, you can hide their location from appearing. Simply:

  • Open Google Maps
  • Open the map, tap their icon
  • At the bottom, tap more
  • To hide someone temporarily, tap “Hide from map”. You can stop hiding them at any time.

Stop Hiding Someone

  • Tap Account Circle > Location Sharing > More
  • Tap Hidden from Map > More > Show on map.

Deny or Block a Location Request

If you don’t want to share your location with anyone on Google Maps, you can:

  • Deny the request by tapping “No”
  • Block the requester by tapping “Block”.

Stop Blocking

If you change your mind and you want to stop blocking them, simply:

  • Tap Account Circle > Location sharing.
  • At the top, tap More > Blocked users.
  • Next to the person you want to unblock, tap Remove.