News
Now Reading
Scam Alert: The new Netflix email scam and how to avoid it

Scam Alert: The new Netflix email scam and how to avoid it

For the most part, scamming people over the internet is not new (think of the rich prince from Nigeria!), what’s new; however, are the different ways that keep popping up daily. One of the newest ways making the rounds now is email phishing scam targeting Netflix’s millions of subscribers as reported by the Grand Rapids Police Department on its Facebook page.



For the uninitiated reader, phishing scams are an attempt by nefarious people to get private information such as credit card details as well as usernames and passwords by pretending to be a legit entity- in this case Netflix – via electronic communication. These channels include emails, websites, phone calls, with which they can install malicious software to steal some of these details.

Here’s how the Netflix email scam works:

They email you about your subscription not being renewed due to billing issues on your account. The email further threatens to suspend your subscription within 48 hours if action is not taken. Of course, most people love their “Netflix and chill,” so are tempted to follow the instructions in the mail.





If you, for any reason, click on the link in the email, you will land on a login page that looks almost like Netflix’s login page.





Entering your Netflix’s login details is their endgame and once you’re done, they can access your Netflix account and in turn access your billing details.

How to avoid phishing scams

  1. While the format and grammar in this email look airtight, phishing emails are usually riddled with bad grammar and poor formatting, so keep an eye out for these red flags. They also have threats to push you into performing their desired action(s). Lastly, they target big companies like Facebook, Netflix, and banks with lots of customers or users.
  2. Pay attention to the sender’s email.
  3. Hover over the link or button (but NEVER click!) to see where the link goes to.
  4. Delete the email without clicking on any link as cybercriminals can install malicious software that way.
  5. Call or contact support via the official website to confirm if your account has any issues. No company will ask for your personal details via email or on the phone. They’d rather ask you to log into your account to update your details.