Losing your phone is a painful experience but you needn’t lose all your data along with it if you’ve taken the right precautions
If you live in the West and use an Android phone then you’re more than likely entrenched in Google’s services. You live your mobile life in Gmail, sort your pictures in Google Photos, write your to-do lists in Keep and balance your books in Sheets.
Google last May introduced auto-delete controls where your history and activity information is removed after 3 or 18 months. The company today is making this the default behavior across key settings for new users.
Google is a big proponent for 2-Step Verification, and is today improving the experience on iPhones. You can now sign-in to a Google Account on iOS using USB/NFC security keys.
Do you ever get confused as to which Gmail, Google Drive, or Google Calendar account you’re using? Have you tried to join a Google Meet call for work, only to be rejected because you were accidentally in your personal account? Yeah, it happens to us too. All. The. Time. Fortunately, Google makes it easy not only to switch between accounts but to set a different account as your default.
How to change your default Google account